• Vragen? Wacht niet langer op de antwoorden! Login of Registreer en plaats jouw vraag! Wij zullen je vragen z.s.m. beantwoorden.

Alpenföhn Wingboost 2 120mm Blood Red Review (English)

iSP

Introduction

Let me first introduce me so you know why this review is a bit different from the usual fan reviews :). I’m a field engineer in civil engineering, so I actually tackle problems in the field (literally) and use applied science rather than just the theoretical knowledge. What may look good on paper can behave totally different when applied. Also some stuff is often overlooked/waved away because they think we might not care about it.

With computer hardware it’s no different and when I finally raised enough money I was in the market for some new fans. Usually I stick to Noctua, they’re great and can hardly be beaten. The main problem of many modders alike is the colour, even while they released black fans you’re still limited in choice and you won’t get current tech on these.

When looking around I actually found some nice fans that not just looked the part but also on paper looked as good. So can these finally beat my favourite Noctua? And what are my criteria I look for in a fan? You may even learn a thing or 2 =). Did I right requesting these? Let’s find out!

The challenger; Alpenföhn

Db8yiXu.png

So why did I just mention 2 different Noctua’s? Well there’s something funny going on here. The S in the product name stands for Silent and P for Performance… Many say you should go for the Performance one but however I look at it the S is superior. It has way more airflow, this means it can push more fresh air through the cooling fins of your CPU heatsink or radiator… and it’s also a big deal more silent than the performance version but that’s no surprise. There’s just one thing lacking from these spec sheets almost without fail, fan curves, but first stop the looks.

The Looks and box contents